Fair Trade: The Social Eater

Today we have the great opportunity to hear from Sarah of The Social Eater! Sarah is a new mom and has a passion for educating others about the fair trade movement. Welcome Sarah!

My passion for fair trade is something that’s been growing in me for years.

It started with a few pieces of chocolate so good I had to find out more about it.

If you want to know a secret (that’s not really a secret) about me, I’ll tell you:  a really easy way to my heart is with high-quality chocolate.

I think food should be taken at more than face value.

There’s meaning behind it.

It can be life-giving.

It’s community glue.

I am currently a stay-at-home mom to a beautiful baby boy. The amount of focused time that I am able to spend on the site is limited, but I do what I can with what I have. “Do what you can with what you have where you are” (originally quoted from Theodore Roosevelt) is our motto at The Social Eater.

 Making choices that enhance the quality of life of both farmers and consumers is important to me.

It’s also important to me that my son sees me working for something that lights me up inside.

Can we talk about what I mean by “fair trade” for a minute?

Simply put, those words mean those who have farmed or helped produce products like sugar, tea, coffee, and chocolate have all been treated and compensated fairly. There’s more that goes into it, such as some of the profits being required to be put back into the community in forms the workers choose democratically (examples include schools, libraries, and equipment).

You may have noticed symbols that look like these in your grocery stores.


That means the product carrying the label is certified fair trade.

I don’t want to get too confusing, especially for those who are new to fair trade, but I will say that it’s the heart and the action behind the products you buy that matter, not necessarily the label. Those labels are a good starting point, but they are not the end of the story.

What I am aiming to do with my Social Eater project is hash out the ins and outs of how to make food choices that positively affect us as consumers and them as producers.

It’s not easy because a lot of the production I am exploring has to do with things that usually can’t be purchased from local growers- things like coffee and chocolate. It’s hard to know what’s really going on from so far away, but we can continue to do what we can with what we have where we are.

Some ideas to get started now:

Buy from a local farmer. Ask about how workers are treated, and where the produce is from. Not sure where to do this? Check out localharvest.org for resources near you.

Swap one conventional item for something created by fairly paid workers. (Check out Fair (and Frugal!) Groceries and Where Do We Go From Here? for more information.)

~Learn more about Sarah’s Courage Project at The Social Eater & also at Yoga for Breakfast. Read about my Mindful Eating Fair Trade Experience.

What are your thoughts on Fair Trade?

Share your experiences with incorporating fair trade products into your home!

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fair Trade: The Social Eater

  1. Kath says:

    I love the social eater project … What a great idea :)

Comments are closed.