Intuitive Sleeping: Honoring Your Tiredness

I struggle with overeating at night time. It doesn’t come from a place of physical hunger. Rather I use food to stuff down any type of negative emotion. I’ve gotten to the point where I realize that if I am hungry, and it is after ten o’clock, I really need to evaluate whether I’m physically hungry or not. I tend to overeat when I really should be in bed.

I equate tiredness with a negative emotion.

I’m not sure why.

I was raised in a family where “doing” and being “busy” was the norm. Those biological patterns were not passed on to me through the womb, so I always felt different.

I’m a vegger. I need my empty spaces. And I’m okay with that.

However, I really need to listen to my body’s rhythms.

Especially when it comes to tiredness in the evening.

It’s okay to be tired, especially after a long day of work or in my case when I’ve been in community for an extended period of time.

I need to honor my tiredness, just like I honor my physical hunger.

Feeling tired is not a negative emotion. It’s a natural sign to slow down, and go to bed,  & refresh for the morning.

Can I get an amen?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Intuitive Sleeping: Honoring Your Tiredness

  1. Gemma says:

    I always have to remind myself that I am no good to anyone (including myself) if I am not well-rested. I can’t focus, I get crabby and I eat junk because it feel like energy. Sleep is good!

  2. Sarah says:

    Amen! I find I’m much more likely to over-eat if I’m tired, too. You’re certainly not the only one!

    • Hi Sarah! Thanks for stopping by! I don’t know why people got it in their heads that pushing down tiredness was something to be lauded. It doesn’t make us better people! It makes us cranky!!!

  3. SouthernGal says:

    Amen to everything you said here!

Comments are closed.