New Food Rules

As many of you know, Michael Pollan wrote a short, sweet book “Food Rules.”

He is coming out with an new illustrated version of this title, & asked his readers to submit some new additions. Here are a few gems:

Place a bouquet on the table & everything will taste twice as good. – Gisbert P. Auwaerter, Cutchogue, NY

Love your spices. They add richness & depth to food without salt. – Claire Cheney, Jamaica Plain, MA

When you eat real food, you don’t need rules. – Mandy Gerth

Some less scientific entries that didn’t make the new edition, but are entertaining:

Eat Pringles only with diet soda.

The French fries you pick off someone else’s plate carry no calories.

White bread is only good for picking up glass or cleaning typewriter keys.

What yogic eating guidelines do you live by?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Food Rules

  1. Gemma says:

    Food consumed in the company of good friends is the greatest nourishment.

  2. Oooh, love that! I know for me, I eat so much more mindfully with others present. Most people I know have the opposite problem. But in terms of emotional nourishment, I am with you 1000 percent of the way!

  3. I had no idea that white bread could be used clean a keyboard or to pick up glass!! 🙂

    Here’s one: the intention with which you eat anything is almost more important than what you eat…

  4. Meghan says:

    Food is meant to be fuel. Nothing more….(I say this when I have to eat something I don’t really like….).

    • Thanks for commenting! I think food is meant to be fuel. However, I do believe food was created to be enjoyed too. I think normal eaters use it for emotional reasons from time to time. And why are you eating food you don’t like??? 🙂

  5. Jill says:

    oh gosh, i just loved all the reader-submitted rules – especially the one about not needing rules if you eat real food! great blog post!

Comments are closed.