New Food Guidelines

First Lady, Agriculture Secretary Launch MyPlate Icon as a New Reminder to Help Consumers to Make Healthier Food Choices

The new MyPlate icon emphasizes the fruit, vegetable, grains, protein and dairy food groups. http://www.ChooseMyPlate.gov.

The 2010 Dietary Guidelines for Americans:
Balance Calories
• Enjoy your food, but eat less.
• Avoid oversized portions.
Foods to Increase
• Make half your plate fruits and vegetables.
• Switch to fat-free or low-fat (1%) milk.
• Make at least half your grains whole grains
Foods to Reduce
• Compare sodium (salt) in foods like soup, bread, and frozen meals, and choose foods with lower numbers.
• Drink water instead of sugary drinks.

I think it is hilarious that the First Lady & the Agriculture Dept are the ones coming up with the model… because they have so much training in dietetics. (HAHA) The agri dept has NEVER led us astray before, right??

Also, where are the healthy fats & oils?

Overall, I like the better balance the new plate icon offers. However, all of this goes to naught if you are not hungry when you start eating, & if you are not eating mindfully! Also, how big/small is the plate you choose?

Your turn!

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Food Guidelines

  1. Kate @ Walking in the Rain says:

    Esh, I hope someone with a nutrition background had some input, but who knows.

    I did read an article from Scientific American where a nutritionist was interviewed and she said she liked the new version better than the one from 2005 (which was too confusing). She also mentioned a big problem people have is they don’t understand portion sizes (which have been manipulated by food companies). The example she provided was how people would eat a bagel (I know I have) and consider it one serving of grains. In actuality the bagel counts as 6ix servings.

    I’m reading In Defense of Food right now, and I think the new plate reflects how we should be eating “real” food and it should mostly be plants.

    I really think it shouldn’t be so hard to figure out what to eat!

  2. Oooh, Kate! Thanks for sharing that perspective. I LOVED “In Defense of Food”! It is startling to realize how false so-called “food science” is!

    • Kate @ Walking in the Rain says:

      I freaked out when I read about how food stuffs had to be labeled “imitation” until the rules were overturned in the late ’70s.

      I can’t wait to finish and read “Food Rules.” I think I might just buy that one instead of borrowing it from the library.

  3. N. Bee says:

    When I saw the poster of the new plate, it reminded me of the old “square” meal eating guidelines, with fruit pushing dairy off the plate so it can gain independence from the veggies. Oh, being a nutritional expect is not required to think this stuff up. Our government issues food guidelines based on geometry – squares, triangles, and now circles. The next one will be an octagon promoted as the best eating plan to stop obesity.

  4. sarah says:

    Laughing at an octagon food plan!
    I’m not much into government recommendations on amounts to eat because mindful eating isn’t about amounts, but this plate appeals to me much more than the pyramid.

Comments are closed.