Green Mountain at Fox Run

Welcome to Paradise!

A few years ago, I came across a description of a retreat center in Vermont for women. It is a place where women of all stages of life, age, & size can come and spend focused time getting to know each other, and more importantly about their relationships with food, their physical bodies, & their person mind-body connection.

I decided in December to complete their 4-week program here. What attracted me most to Green Mountain at Fox Run was their nondiet philosophy. The nondiet philosophy is working on attuning one’s own physical hunger and satiety/satisfaction signals, rather than using external forces, such as a diet.

There are classes on behavior, nutrition, mindfulness, coping with emotions, as well as hiking, strength training, and cardio.

Some of the highlights from my first week include meditation, Zumba (Hmm, maybe a lowlight because i have no dance background except for tap when I was 5), and sitting on adirondack chairs staring at Okemo Mountain.

Each week women begin their program by arriving on Sunday between 1pm-5pm. Dinner is served, and then you attend orientation and get the grand tour of the retreat grounds.

I will be blogging my experiences from time to time. I just completed Week 1. What questions do you have about Green Mountain at Fox Run?

Have you ever been to Vermont?

Have you ever given yourself time away to work on your relationship with food/body/mind matters?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Green Mountain at Fox Run

  1. Kate says:

    I’m glad you are having a good time! I’m so jealous you are there in Vermont.
    I would want to know what a typical day is like there and what you are learning.

  2. What a cool thing to do, how much was it for the retreat, if you don’t mind my asking? What are the accommodations like? How do you like it so far?

  3. I think I will do a follow-up post to address any questions. Stay tuned…

  4. Sarah says:

    I can’t think of any particular questions (can I blame it on pregnancy brain?), but I’m interested to read anything you have to say about your retreat. It sounds so fascinating and definitely something I want to learn more about.

  5. P says:

    You forgot dance class in college….hope you are really soaking in all the good information and peace…

Comments are closed.