The Scale & Irrational Fears

I have this irrational fear that if I do not weigh myself frequently, I will not lose weight.

Crazy, huh?

I know that weight loss is something I cannot control. I can only manage my eating and movement habits. But, I cannot do anything about my weight. That is outside of my locus of control. So, I need to surrender that desire to lose weight, & focus on what I can manage.

I went for a long period of time (maybe a couple of years) where I only weighed myself every nine months or so.

Then recently, I’ve been weighing myself as much as three times a week. To give myself credit, I don’t weigh myself if I am having a bad day.

Regardless, weighing (like dieting) is a mind fuck.

I’d like to bring some balance to my relationship with the scale. I don’t think going cold-turkey is the key. I don’t think abstaining from weighing is good either, for myself, personally. When I didn’t weigh, I was abstaining because I wanted to be in denial as to the effect my unhealthy relationship with food had on my physical & mental body.

I’m going to aim for once a week.

And try to surrender.

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.