Eleven Random Things

  1. I like cottage cheese on top of spaghetti sauce.
  2. The idea of spinning class is cool, but my butt says otherwise.
  3. Having everything perfectly put away, looking all institutional, makes me very anxious.  A little mess is preferred.
  4. I once tried ADHD medication, but I lost it. Then I lost my calendar & missed the doctor’s appointment in which I was to discuss how taking the meds was going. (Kinda awesome, right?!)
  5. There is little I love more than my Diet Coke from McDonalds. (Light ice.)
  6. I wish my book club would actually talk about the books we read.
  7. I’d really like to be okay with myself (all of me.)
  8. I wonder what our world would be like if the diet industry/weight cycling industry had never existed.
  9. I love writing in my day planner. The greatest day of the year is getting a new day planner. The second greatest day is getting a new wallet & purse.
  10. I don’t think Snickers really satisfies you. Diet Coke does. (See #5 above.)
  11. I need connection, but I’m terrified of it.
About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Eleven Random Things

  1. Kate says:

    When I drank diet soda, I preferred soda from a fountain. Canned soda always has a metallic taste, and the fountain soda was so much sweeter.

    I’m terrible about leading my book group. We’ll talk about the book for 10 minutes and then talk about other things for the rest of the hour. I feel like a bad leader, but sometimes I don’t have anything to add to the book discussion.

    I also love my day planner! I have an obsession with finding the right one. Right now I’m really sad that the planner I bought is too big for my purse so I have to schlep a bigger bag to work.

  2. In my experience, book clubs do not often discuss books.

    My boss occasionally sends me on a Diet Coke run, preferably from McDonalds or Subway.

    On the other hand, Snickers satisfies me way more than Diet Coke (though I am by no means against the soda). I might go on Diet Coke runs, but I keep mini Snickers in my desk.

  3. Susan N. says:

    Thanks for your comments and the link over on Jesus Creed – Weekly Meanderings, re: Rick Warren’s Daniel Diet. I like how you think, Eating as a Path to Yoga!

    I may encourage my daughter to read your blog. She needs encouragement in this area. I feel like I’m constantly pushing back and countering the unhealthy cultural (both outside and inside the church) messages that she is hearing about food, healthy eating, and body image. Besides my talk, I’m trying to be a good example for her and not obsess about my appearance — despite being full-on into the aging process.

    I wondered if you had seen anything of Oprah Winfrey lately? I have been catching a few of her in-depth interviews on her new channel, OWN, namely the interview with Joel Osteen and Jane Fonda. Now, the juxtaposition of these two characters (mega-church, health and wealth gospel, celebrity pastor and former fitness guru, respectively) presents some interesting fodder for contemplation… Aside from the quality of the interview content, I noticed that Oprah had gained much (most, all?) of her weight back. She seems happy, though, in her skin, and I hope for her that she is at peace with herself and is healthy and whole. I reaffirmed my affection for Oprah!

    Blessings and Peace to you,
    Susan N.

  4. Megan says:

    I know this is an older post, but I just wanted to high-five you for #6. Surely there are book clubs out there for people who really want to talk about books, right? I have to find one, because my book club mostly just drinks sangria and talks about teaching – as a non-teacher, this means I mostly just drink sangria and I didn’t join the darn book club to develop a drinking problem.

Comments are closed.