Superbowl Detox Yoga

So, today I went to yoga, & the instructor announced that we would be participating in detox yoga flow, because of course we all would be imbibing/overeating on celebratory foods later on.

Really?

1. How did she know that people would be attending Superbowl parties?
2. Why did she assume people would ignore their body’s signals & overeat? Isn’t the point of yoga to tune into our bodies?
3. Does the instructor believe people attend her classes to engage in calorie-burning activities? I thought yoga was about being in the present moment.

I go to yoga because for me, it is prayer in motion. It has been an essential part of my recovery from disordered eating.

These statements made in class are incredibly frustrating & totally triggering for those stuck in unhealthy relationships with food & their bodies.

What would you do? What is your response?

I do not have the guts to talk to the yoga studio owner nor the instructor.

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Superbowl Detox Yoga

  1. Kate says:

    Wow, I’m not sure what I would have said in that situation. I probably would have quietly stewed over the comments and let them affect me all day. (Then probably overeat because I didn’t say anything.)

    I think that while you might not have been comfortable saying anything today (I wouldn’t say anything either), I bet eventually you will be able to take the instructor aside and say that her comments were triggering–she probably wasn’t even aware of it!

  2. Auntie Anne says:

    Perhaps you can be a teacher to your teacher… helping her to see the power of yoga to bring us back to our bodies with kindness and compassion and sensitivity to our bodies needs for nourishment that is attuned.

  3. Wow, this yoga instructor really missed you. She missed your essence, and more importantly, she missed your soul. And in a place like yoga, to be missed on such a fundamental level is ultra alienating. It sounds like you bring your whole self to yoga and you want people to see you there.

    This yoga instructor probably wants to know your whole self, and it’s still a risk to open yourself to being missed again. And it sounds like both you and the sacred space you want there deserve your investment in going to another level with this teacher.

    What would allow this yoga teacher to hear you in a way that would change her behavior from a place of empowerment and alignment? You could shut her down the way that she shut you down. That would be easy.

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while and I have a lot of respect for your communication skills. A lot. I think you’re more than up to the challenge of honoring both you and her in this vital conversation. You’ve got a lot of readers (like me!) who have your back for this.

  4. Like was said above, I would communicate this concern to her. People go to yoga (and really any form of exercise) for all different reasons. My reasons never have anything to do with food either but I think that is where a lot of instructors miss the boat.

  5. Paleo Yogini says:

    Wow–I feel really bad because I sometimes (often?) say things like this in my classes, not thinking about the impact they might have on my students. Double my bad because of my own eating disorder and being triggered by all kinds of things, not the least of which is standing up in front of a class of students trying to feel fit in lycra when I really feel like hiding. Two things that strike me: 1) this is your yoga teacher’s shit. She can only speak from her own experience. I’m guessing this is how she sees her yoga, or saw it on that day. You don’t have congruent views, or at least didn’t on that day. 2) Yoga teachers are just people! It is alternately humbling, scary, and hysterically funny to learn about all of the miraculous powers my students (and other people) attribute to me simply because I teach yoga a few times a week! I know that I have it within me to change people’s lives, but I know that I say incredibly stupid things, too.
    One of the first posts I wrote on my blog was about a yoga teacher who said something triggering during a practice. I went up to him afterward to tell him about it, and while he made all the right noises during our conversation, he made fun of me (without pointing me out) in front of the class later that day. That wasn’t cool. But I took ownership of how his comment affected me.
    In yoga, at least in my opinion, there is a symbiotic relationship between teacher and student. If you were my student and came to me with this type of feedback after class, I would hope that I’d be receptive. I would take it as an opportunity to learn–about myself, about you, about my skills as a teacher, and about how a glib comment can have ramifications greater than intended. I also think that talking to the teacher would have allowed you to take back a little of whatever she took away from your practice by what she said.
    When it comes down to it, yoga is a very personal thing and you need to pick and choose the teachers who speak to you. If you like this one, give her a chance. If she doesn’t listen to you, then walk away.
    I learned a lot from this post. I wish you were one of my students!

    • I did a post after this to confirmed what you are saying. The teacher is projecting her own body issues. Hey, we live in America, yoga teacher or not, how could she not? I’m not ready to talk to her about it. Maybe someday I will summon the courage to do so. Plus, everyone has different intentions when it comes to yoga. Om Shanti. Om Peace.

Comments are closed.