Holy Guacamole!

Yesterday night I finished my report cards. This morning I woke up so worn out, drained, exhausted ~despite a full night’s sleep.

All day I kept on thinking about… GUACAMOLE.

I brought a specific kind of guacamole to a Super Bowl party & to book club & it got rave reviews. Note: I did not make it. I bought it from a local grocery store chain.

I could not stop thinking about it.

So, after school I went to the said local grocery chain to buy the guac… & $107 worth of other items. I found my favorite chocolate donuts, Stouffers was on sale, tortilla chips, and more.

I paused in the grocery aisles, and thought… “Wow, this looks like I am preparing for a binge.”

Stocking up for a binge. I have not done that in years.

Don’t get me wrong, I binge at home with my current groceries somewhat frequently. However, I have not gone specifically grocery shopping for binge-ing purposes in a long, long time. (years)

Yes, I go on fast food runs, but not specific binge grocery trips.

I got a little worried, and then I assessed the situation.

Yes, I bought specific foods to celebrate with….maybe the tiniest bit for numbing out/more relaxing I guess…. but really I bought only tortilla chips, guac, & ready-to-bake chocolate chip cookies for the relaxing event tonight. PS: for the record I also bought vitamins!

I decided my plan of action would be to:
1.) Wait for hunger.
2.) Really enjoy the food & and enjoy vegging out. No guilt about not being productive. Anytime I feel guilty for not being productive & vegging…. usually a binge happens. Better to just own being unproductive.
3.) Make only a few chocolate chip cookies at a time! That is the miracle/wonder of ready-to-make ones. The rest go in the ziploc baggie to be made another day. (This did not work out perfectly, as this blogger burned the first batch!!)

What are your favorite foods you might use to relax with or celebrate with?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Holy Guacamole!

  1. Sarah says:

    I love the thought of owning nonproductivity. What a great idea- and so necessary sometimes.
    I don’t think I have one particular favorite food reward- but I do have expensive taste. I like to reward myself with the pricey stuff when I’m celebrating.

  2. Meghan says:

    Once again–I’m so impressed! I would have assessed after the fact…and beat myself up for not doing well in the first place!

  3. Like they say at GMFR, even bingeing (or choosing to “numb out”) can be mindful! Good job…

    I love a nice glass of wine and a bit of cheese…although I have to be careful these days as I’ve developed lactose intolerance.

  4. Run Eat Play says:

    Sounds like a great plan of action! I love those break and bake cookies!
    I usually relax with ice cream or popcorn!

Comments are closed.