Girl Scouts: An Open Letter

Dear Girl Scouts,
I have a complicated relationship with your cookies. I adore the taste of them. So, much that I lose myself and all sense of time, and by jove, a whole sleeve of cookies disappears.

Thin Mints, Caramel deLites, Samoas, Tagalongs, Do-si-dos, Trefoils…. these are a few of my favorite things. When the dog bites, Savannah Smiles. When the bees sting, Dulce De Leche. When I’m feeling sad, Shortbreads. I simply remember my favorite things, & then I don’t feel so bad. (Note to Consumer: these baked goods are best eaten when physically hungry in a non-distracted environment.)

I do not feel guilt or shame. I know normal eaters devour your delectable treats. It is hard to legalize your cookies because you only make them available once a year. But, that is what makes them special, too. So when my Girl Scout delights are gone, I finally bid them adieu, & know that I will enjoy them again next year.

So, Girl Scouts, if I could give you any advice, it would be to keep making these treats. Really! Continue to encourage people to eat them mindfully without fear of calories and fat content. Use real ingredients that will make the taste even more pleasurable.

Many Blessings,
A Girl Scout Cookie Enthusiast

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Girl Scouts: An Open Letter

  1. Kate says:

    I love the sound of music reference! lol

    Girl scout cookies were one of the first things I legalized when I was trying intutitve eating and I realized really fast that I didn’t like the cookies. I would much rather eat a homemade cookie, than a girl scout one.

    To each their own, right? 😀

    • Definitely! Unlike dieting, every BODY can figure out what feels good in their body. What foods are right for you, may or may not be right for me. Viva l’intuitive eating!

  2. Megan says:

    I like this post, and it pointed out something to me that I still don’t do: I don’t consider cookies as a legitimate food choice when I’m actually hungry. I don’t have guilt about them, but I treat them as a post-meal dessert, not as something I could have as a snack when hungry. I’d like to fix that, because sometimes a milk-and-cookie snack would be just the thing in the afternoon when I’m hungry instead making myself have “real food”.

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on cookies. « A Place in the Family of Things.

  4. Kara says:

    I love the thin mint cookies. We don’t have all the varieties available in Canada, but I love the mint cookies. I haven’t had them in a few years, as I don’t seem to know any girl guides, but mmm, they are good.

    I would treat the thin mints the same as a box of Oreos. If I happen to have a box at the house, I may eat the box more quickly. But that’s ok; we can indulge from time-to-time, it’s normal!

Comments are closed.