Pursue health, not a number on the scale!

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pursue health, not a number on the scale!

  1. I love this – especially, “UNSTOPPABLE”. We really are!

  2. Debbish says:

    Starting to read some of your old posts. LOVE this!!!!

  3. Kate says:

    I know this is a late reply, but I wanted to say that I’ve just found your blog and started reading your posts – I love it, it’s really inspiring.

    I know that it’s disheartening to get on the scale and see a number that you don’t like. Until a couple of weeks ago I was weighing myself about three times a day, and getting obsessed with the tiny fluctuations in my weight. I found that it wasn’t helping at all with intuitive eating, because I would either under-eat as a result of not being happy with my weight, or over-eat as a ‘reward’.

    You seem to have a healthy attitude, as I read in one of your other posts that you only weigh yourself once a week, but have you thought about getting a body measuring tape to keep track of your weight loss (or maintenance) instead? I got one last week and it seems a much more accurate method. According to my scale I’ve gained three pounds since last week (water, muscle, I’m not sure) and lost an inch on my waist, and my clothes are fitting looser. I’ve decided to give up the scale for good because it doesn’t actually tell me anything, and use the measuring tape to help me remind myself that my figure is healthy, and that I haven’t actually gained five pounds of fat from one day of eating a bit too much salt!

    Sorry for the rambling, I’m just so excited that I’m no longer going to be a slave to the scale! Every time I’m scared that I’ve gained weight and I’m tempted to sleep back into unhealthy patterns, I just measure myself and I realise that I am still a healthy size. I can eat intuitively without getting obsessed with numbers.

    I thought the suggestion fitted in with this post. 🙂 Thank you for helping me realise that I can’t be unstoppable and feel stunning if I’m letting myself be controlled by a machine in my bathroom! Xx

    • Thanks, Kate! My relationship with the scale is evolving. I now weigh myself about every 3-4 weeks, and that’s only because I need to monitor it due to a medical issue. (Well, and because I’m curious!) Thank you for reaching out!

Comments are closed.