Mindful Eating Challenge #9

I think it is really important to unhook healthy eating from weight loss. Weight loss is an outcome. Healthy eating is a habit. We cannot control outcomes, only habits or practices. If I stop losing weight, I still want to eat healthfully.

I am trying to incorporate more gentle nutrition into my life because

1.) I want to feel good in my body.

2.) I want to fuel my body appropriately.

3.) I want to have an emotionally healthy relationship with food.

I’ve gained so much from kissing dieting good bye. Or maybe slamming the door shut on dieting, shall we say?

The freedom from rules and regulations of what is good and not good for me are gone. I can trust my own inner wisdom to tell me what my body needs.

Eating mindfully helps me:

1. Find more satisfaction in my food.

2. Allows me to live and eat in the present.

3. Allows me to slow down and savor each bite.

4. Gives me appreciation for what I have, instead of what I don’t have.

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in May Mindful Eating Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mindful Eating Challenge #9

  1. My goal is always to unhook healthy eating and weight loss. They way you eat should be just one part of your overall lifestyle – I don’t believe in “diets” as they have the word “die” in them. I think a little part of someone dies every time they put themselves on one!

  2. Debbish says:

    Hmm… I had to think about this – everything is so related to my weight (or also the way I look – weight-wise!).

    I expect you’re getting a lot out of this challenge!

  3. Debbish says:

    Thought I left a comment but it seemed to be gobbled up! I expect you’re getting a lot out of this challenge. I’m certainly enjoying reading about it!

    Deb

  4. I know you are getting sooo so much out of this challenge, and I think it is just great and admirable that you are taking the time to do this! And the mental time as well 🙂 I know it’s something that would help me!

    • It’s really been helping me! I know intellectually everything there is to know about Mindful Eating. But now, I’m trying it in a nonjudgmental way! Happy Graduation!

Comments are closed.