Mindful Eating Challenge #10

“Part of the secret of success in life is to eat what you like and let the food fight it out inside.” ~Mark Twain

This challenge kept me from blogging for awhile. I haven’t had a meal alone, which is the way I wanted to do this challenge. Alone. Eating without distractions.

I was definitely hungry before I began eating. I had just come home from a 4-mile hike. I did a little bit of tasting before the meal was fully prepared. However, I had enough hunger to still really enjoy the meal.

I noticed the aroma of the food. The berries (strawberries, boysenberries, blueberries, & raspberries) smelled so sweet and fresh. The lemon-pepper chicken smelled nourishing. The crackle of the olive oil, cooking in the pan, was like a dance.

The chicken had a peppery bite to it. I loved the crunch of the organic green beans and carrots when I bit into them. The boysenberries melted in my mouth as I put them on my tongue.

I noticed that I continue to like to eat one item of food at a time. I tried varying the bites of foods on my plate, my I just end up eating one thing at a time.

I didn’t eat all of my chicken. I think I was able to really tune in, and ask my body how much food it wanted. I saved the strawberries for another time. When I slow down, I can really better notice when I hit satisfaction in my body.

I was fully present during my meal. I turned off the television. I sat down at a table, with my food on a plate. I haven’t done that in years. It was strange, foreign, and exciting. I approached this challenge like an experiment. I took notes, and tried to be nonjudgmental. Sometimes eating alone brings up uncomfortable feelings, but this time it did not.

I really tasted my food with awareness, instead of the mindless munching I typically do.

I’d like to complete this challenge again. Maybe next week?

What is the most difficult part about being in-the-moment for you?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in May Mindful Eating Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mindful Eating Challenge #10

  1. Debbish says:

    I find it really hard to eat with no distractions. I feel like I NEED to be doing other things – thinking about all of the tasks I SHOULD be doing. Also I kinda get bored… I found myself picking up the pepper shaker to read the label etc. (Strange!!!)

Comments are closed.