Mindful Eating Challenge #11

I’ve never given much thought to pistachios until last month. Last month was my first Nature Box delivery. It included peppery pistachios. They were amazing!

I bought my bag of pistachios at World Market. I hadn’t been to World Market in quite some time. They had a lot of really unique foods. I’ll have to go back & explore more, because I was in a hurry at the time.

As soon as I opened the bag, I took a deep breath and inhaled the salty smell of the nuts. It took me back to when I was a kid on the beach, licking a pistachio ice cream cone.

The bag said that a serving would be 1/4 of a cup of nuts, or 1/2 of a cups of nuts with the shells. Do people really eat the shells?

Obviously, I don’t need a bag with nutritional guidelines to tell me how much food I needed/wanted to eat. However, I used it as a starting point.

Once I ate two or three of them, I realized I wasn’t as physically hungry as I thought I would be. Plus, I had Indian food leftovers to eat for dinner!

I ended up eating about 1/8 of a cup. They were delicious, and I plan on eating them again….. MINDFULLY! And with hunger. Everything tastes better when you are physically hungry! 🙂

Read more about the Pistachio Effect here:

What is your favorite kind of nut?
How do you enjoy snacks without going into mindless mode?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in May Mindful Eating Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mindful Eating Challenge #11

  1. Debbish says:

    I’m not a good snacker I must confess. I really only do it at work when I’m hungry or out of habit and my snacks there are very healthy – usually some almonds and sultanas. I pack them in small boxes, or get a small amount out of a bag so I’m not likely to eat more than I should.

Comments are closed.