Mindful Eating Challenge #12

I have had really positive experiences eating dessert mindfully when it is included with the rest of the meal. It kind of neutralizes the dessert, you know? It makes it glitter a little less.

So, that being said. I was interested to see what might come up for me when I tried this challenge.

My family and I celebrated Mother’s Day at Baker’s Square. We agreed to meet for dessert.

I cannot even tell you how badly this challenge went! It makes me giggle just to think about it. Although last night, I was majorly peeved! 🙂

So last night, I definitely had some hunger prior to ordering. The other family members hadn’t eaten dinner yet, which I was thought was weird, because three of us had had lunch around 1pm and it was now 9pm. I guess different strokes? I had eaten dinner, but had arranged my hunger to leave some room.

First up was an AMAZING drink! Too sweet for me though, so I dumped a lot of water in it, and then it was perfect. Pomegranate Limeade! *The Lily-of-the-Valley are from my parents’ yard!

The other family members ordered dinner. I just wanted pie, but I knew my family would have pie AFTER the dinner. I didn’t want to just sit there and not eat while the other family members did. At the time, this seemed IMPOSSIBLE!

So, I had a cup of chicken noodle soup. At the end of the soup, I was totally done. No. Hunger. At. All.

But, I ordered pie. I had been waiting all night for this pie. It was custard cream pie. *My favorite*

In the meantime, while waiting for the pie, I was starting to get very irritated by my family. They weren’t doing anything out of the ordinary. I think all this internal struggle about whether I was hungry or not hungry, whether I was ordering food or not ordering food also caused some anxiety.

When the pie arrived, I inhaled it. I didn’t smell the aroma, feel the textures, or anything remotely related to being mindful.

It. Was. Just. Gone.

I felt horrible afterwards. Physically. Tight. Full. Uncomfortable. Disappointed that I didn’t really savor the whole pie situation. Anxious about Food. Irritated in general.

What did I learn?

Enjoy the people & the conversation. Don’t make food an event. Use my senses to fully enjoy what I have in my meal and in my life.

Challenge myself to sit with my feelings of not having food while my parents are eating.

What did I do right?

I ate dinner beforehand because I was physically hungry for it. I didn’t order another meal. I left at 10pm because I had to go to work the next day. (My other family members have different work schedules.) I didn’t beat myself up about the whole situation.

What would you have done in my situation? How would you have handled things?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in May Mindful Eating Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mindful Eating Challenge #12

  1. I did something similar on Sunday. I’ve been cutting out sugar (for reasons that don’t have to do with weight loss. I haven’t actually weighed myself since I began), but I was unprepared when dinner time rolled around. I decided to give in to my cravings (grilled chicken slathered in barbecue sauce and salt and vinegar chips), but instead of savoring the food while I enjoyed the company, I’m pretty sure I literally stuffed my face. I didn’t really engage in conversation while I was doing it, either. And this was a chance for me to eat more mindfully- someone else was watching Nolan!
    Good thing we get many chances to try again:-).

  2. jasmine says:

    Part of the problem with this challenge is it has you eating everything else before getting what you really want and thereby being more likely to overeat because you are no longer hungry but you really want that dessert or sidedish…

Comments are closed.