Mindful Eating Challenge #13

I didn’t have any chips in the house. I just went grocery shopping yesterday, so I didn’t intend on going back today. However, I did have my “back to Nature” Honey Graham sticks available. Add some Justin’s Honey Almond Butter, and voila… DESSERT.

I waited to make sure I had some stomach hunger.

Even though I didn’t have any potato chips, I did practice saying, “One Potato, Two Potato, Three Potato, Four.”

This allowed me to really think about what was in my mouth, and it lengthened the chewing and all over experience of the bite.

However, taste hunger kicked in.

I don’t think this snack was the right choice. I was really searching for something with more chocolate in it. I ended up eating a Weight Watchers Ice Cream Candy Bar. I ate is somewhat mindfully.

Here’s my issue. I think I’m about to get TOM (time of month!) Right before that happens, I really lose my understanding of what my stomach wants. It hurts all the time! And I’m unable to distinguish what it means. Unfortunately for about a 3-4 day period, hunger and satisfaction and fullness feel the same.

I do have to say that I was definitely tasting and not mindlessly munching. I tried to observe what was going in my body, even though it was confusing and difficult.

How do you stay connected to your body’s innate signals?
What challenges arise when you do so?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in May Mindful Eating Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mindful Eating Challenge #13

  1. I have a really hard time during my TOM as well. I def. get pulled into “but I feel like crap I’ll just have this” when it’s on it’s way!

  2. During my TOM, I find it difficult to be mindful especially when I’m having a hard or emotional day. If I can take a time out and ask and then listen to my body, I usually eat more healthfully and mindfully.

  3. Debbish says:

    I think this one would take a lot of practice and perhaps that’s also the point….

Comments are closed.