Mindful Eating Challenge #15

I am not much of a gum-chewer. I lose interest with it very quickly. When I dieted a lot, chewing gum in the evenings helped me through some of those moments when I wanted to eat.

Sometimes it makes sense to distract yourself from your emotions. We can’t feel our emotions 24 hours a day. We need to take breaks!

However, it’s not healthy to be constantly avoiding our feelings either.

I’ve avoided my feelings almost my entire life. I was told I didn’t need to feel or a certain way. Or. I shouldn’t feel a certain way.

My family is very *nice*.

We don’t get too happy and we don’t get too sad.

I always was different from that. I had some extreme feelings. And no outlet for them.

What I’m working on right now, is being with my feelings, ~if only for a few minutes.

Let me tell you. It isn’t easy. Being in my body AND having feelings is so hard for me. Learning to find calm is the journey I am on.

So, when I decide to take a break from my feelings. I’m going to try drink some tea.

I love TAZO tea!!!!

Drinking ANY type of beverage is a challenge for me! I’m a gulper. Big time. So, I’m off  to savor my Tazo!

Do you use food to deal with emotions? What strategies do you use to over come this?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in May Mindful Eating Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mindful Eating Challenge #15

  1. Debbish says:

    Not sure I’ve worked out how to overcome the emotional eating (emptiness? / boredom?) yet.

    I’m not a gum-chewer at all. I occasionally have a piece after my lunch at work if I’ve had something with onion or very flavoursome (for my breath) and chew if for a minute or two and get rid of it once the flavour starts to disappear, so I definitely would fail at this challenge!

    Deb

Comments are closed.