Mindful Eating Challenge #22

Ok, I don’t usually like to drink ANYTHING unless it’s a medium Diet Coke, light ice.  I think I have trouble savoring anything liquid. I tend to gulp it down, and be done with it. Honestly, I don’t like drinking my calories. I don’t count calories, I’m just saying I feel more satiated when I eat whole foods, as opposed to liquid form.

But… I have a secret that I’m letting out of the bag. I want to start maybe making smoothies or juicing this summer to incorporate more vegetables into my eating. Shhh. More about that another time.

I gathered my ingredients.

Well, after I pulled this stuff out of the fridge, & photographed it… the blueberries and boysenberries were just calling out to me. So, I added them in! 🙂

Mix & Blend & Voila….

Pour….

And… promptly *SPILL*

Sigh… story of my life. Too bad no video of me screaming & scooping said smoothie into my hands and onto a bath towel. Speaking of which, I gotta do laundry.

Anyway, I started gulping it as per usual. So, I stopped. Paused. Realized I had no time to enjoy the smoothie mindfully.

So, I drank it a bit more mindfully a few hours later. I enjoyed the taste and texture of the smoothie. I think I don’t really need the honey. It may have been a bit too sweet.

Overall, I enjoyed this experiment. I’m anxious to figure out how to add veggies into the mix.

Do you have a favorite smoothie recipe? What are your thoughts on juicing? How do you drink beverages mindfully? Any tips?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in May Mindful Eating Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mindful Eating Challenge #22

  1. Here’s my “smoothie” recipe. Since I learned that I feel more satisfied when I eat as apposed to drink my food I make “ice cream”. 1 scoop (30 grams) rice protein (I use Sun Warrior brand – it is the cleanest – you can also use whey, hemp etc.), 1 teaspoon (10 grams) maca powder, 1 teaspoon (10 grams) tahini, about 1/2 a cup of water and 3/4 (112-120 grams) of frozen blueberries. I also like to sprinkle a little cinnamon on it. the protein powder is sweetened with stevia so it is sweet enough for me. I have also used coconut water instead and that cuts down the bitterness of the stevia if you are not accustomed to the taste.

Comments are closed.