Red Velvet Cupcake Lessons

I decided to take myself out for lunch today! Do you ever eat out by yourself? I do! I get to choose which ever restaurant I want, at the time and date of my choosing. It is the best.

I had an amazing cheddar ale soup, pretzel bread, and a side salad. (Minus the lettuce. I hate lettuce!)

I had a little room left. I ordered a red velvet cupcake with coconut cream cheese frosting.

It was HUGE! Way more I could ever eat mindfully in one sitting. Plus, it’s not like I had a gigantic amount of room left to fully enjoy it.

I tried the cake first. It was not that great. So, I concentrated on the frosting. It was pretty good, but very rich. The cupcake actually came with strawberries & whipped cream on the side. I enjoyed dipping the strawberries into the frosting.

I ate about a third of the cupcake, and packaged the rest of it eat when I had more appetite.

In hindsight, my body wishes it had received more protein. Every eating experience is a lesson in attunement  101 it seems!

What is your food teaching you?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Red Velvet Cupcake Lessons

  1. Megan says:

    That sounds like a really successful and satisfying lunch! My mindful eating is really just off the rails these days, so for me, it’s more about what it *could* teach me and what I’m choosing to ignore. Lately, it’s like I cannot identify a true hunger cue – I just eat because it’s time and the opportunity has presented itself (when you live with a toddler, that’s pretty key!). But as a result, I end up over- or undereating and dealing with the icky feelings that follow.

    Just because it’s good to get a new perspective, where do you start again when you find yourself off track?

    • Hmm. Well, I think radical self-kindness is a great place start! I try to really think about how I’m talking to myself, and imperfectly take the judgment out. Also, implementing some structure/organization by making sure I have the foods that make my body feel good in my fridge is also good. Tracking my hunger levels is also good, but I’m not really doing that right now. BLESSINGS!

  2. Your body and my body would be in agreement…more protein! What a fantastic way to teach yourself a lesson. It really is kind of like the kid and the hot stove…they don’t learn until they touch it.

  3. Kara says:

    I went out for lunch for the first time in ages. I ordered a rueben sandwich and fries. I was on carb overload the rest of the afternoon. I physically feel better when I eat better choices.

  4. I hate lettuce too!! Bleh – have never liked it. Sounds like you did a fantastic job of keeping yourself present with this meal =)

  5. Pingback: Hitting Diet Bottom | eatingasapathtoyoga

Comments are closed.