Chocolate Mint Enlightenment

I had some ice cream this afternoon. After about 5 spoonfuls, I felt satisfied. I said to myself, “I love how I can eat this ice cream without guilt. I don’t feel compelled to compulsively eat it.” Admittedly, I felt enlightened.

Cheers to me for having that awareness.

But, I didn’t put it away. I let it sit next to me.

I was distracted, maybe bored. Watching television.

Unconsciously, I started to take more and more.

Finally, after about 4 spoonfuls, I started to snap out of it. I checked in to see where I was on the hunger scale: DEFINITELY, not hungry.

About 3 more spoonfuls later, I put the ice cream away.

I guess there is something to be said for portioning out how much you want to eat, instead of eating out of a container. I can always go back for more if I want to, but I think the process of actually getting up and getting more will require more attention, and thereby bringing me more into the present, instead of staying in mindless patterns.

When do you find yourself falling into old habits of mindless eating?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Mindful Eating, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Mint Enlightenment

  1. sexyflexi says:

    I can definitely relate to the eating out of the container thing…
    Something about portioning something out and putting the rest out of sight is so much easier to work with than a bag of cookies or a pint of ice cream. It’s too hard to resist the urge to “clean the plate.” Good for you for recognizing the behavior though.

  2. If I am eating while watching tv (not ideal but happens!) then I def. pre-portion my food. Otherwise I find myself just snacking away with out even realizing what is going on.

Comments are closed.