Whole Foods: Eating Locally

Ever since I read the book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver, I’ve been challenged to eat locally.

Eating locally means reducing your carbon footprint, by purchasing/growing foods in your local area.

“Most food travels over 1,500 miles from farm to plate. Buying locally grown food reduces pollution and our dependence on fossil fuels while preserving farmland near our cities. Your food dollars make a difference in building a sustainable future.” ~Eat Local Milwaukee

In addition, it strengthens your local economy & it actually tastes much better!

Admittedly, I haven’t take big steps to do so. However, I consider my father’s organic garden my own personal CSA. Dad has been gardening organically since the 70s, so it’s what I grew up on.

When I heard Whole Foods was sponsoring an event to celebrate their commitment to eating locally, I jumped at the chance to go. They had set up an exciting vendor fair highlighting local products. It was a great chance to chat with local vendors, and put a face to the product.

*Please note, not all of photos shown are local items.

Grilled Brie with Sour Cherry & Carmelized Pecans

Local tomatoes, served with mozzarella, & fresh basil! (Heaven)

My amazing iced sparkling citrus ginger tea! It was only $400! *I kid.

What are your thoughts on eating locally?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whole Foods: Eating Locally

  1. Whine Less says:

    I try to buy local products whenever possible. It’s easy to do here with at least four farmers markets (one is open 7 days a week, one of the others is open Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday). The market here is a scene for sure! I always see someone I know. It’s a small valley. I love supporting my neighbors! I also love that some of these same growers support our schools and provide them with fresh food for our children’s lunches. It’s a win, win for sure!

Comments are closed.