My Visit to the Dietician

In April, I decided I wanted to move away from processed foods and towards whole foods.

My obstacles are that I am not home a lot. I get hungry waiting for my dinner meal to be made, and then end up snacking, so I’m not hungry when I eat dinner, but eat anyway. I probably need to eat a snack around 4pm to prevent that problem.

My typical eating day looks like this (back in April):

8am Breakfast: McDonalds: Diet Coke, bacon, cheese, & butter on a white bagel. I’ve been trying to substitute that with an Amy’s sausage, half a wheat bagel & muenster cheese.

12:30 Lunch: frozen dinner (like Stouffers) and yogurt.

5:00 frozen dinner or fast food and something else

later on???? grazing. Sometimes a single serving of ice cream.

*I’ve been adding SOME fresh fruits and vegetables to my lunch and dinner. Not tons.

I really like how in the past how my dietician focused on food groups, as opposed to calories. That really helps as I’m not really into diet mentality.

My goal for meeting with the RD was to have her help me come up with some ideas for a flexible meal plan/ideas that don’t require a lot of preparation/cooking.

I just met with a dietician about this. Her definition and my definition were very different. Hers was Vegan. My friend’s definition (who had also recently seen her) was Paleo. Mine was less ingredients.

She told me Diet Coke was not a good idea. WATER

The dietician asked me where are my snacks?? BUSTED. I’m not really into formalized snacking. I like to graze. She suggested dried fruit with yogurt and nuts. Possibly, cheese.

She knows of my love for sandwiches and recommended a 7-12 grain whole wheat bread. If I HAD to have white bread, she recommended Healthy Beginnings.

Yogurt: Chobani was her first choice. She said it was a meal in itself. Light ‘n Fit is full of chemicals. Activia can be helpful if you have digestive issues.

The dietician said before I leave for work at 4pm, I needed to have a snack. (Otherwise I end up starving when I get home!) She recommended any of the following: a bag of whole wheat cereal, trail mix, a Kind bar with milk or yogurt, cottage cheese with veggies, or an apple with 2 tbsp of peanut butter.

Basically, she told me I have got to start cooking. I could have sandwiches or left overs for lunch and start concentrating on cooking at dinner time 3-5x a week. She recommended that I have consistent meals at designated times.

Easy meals such as spaghetti squash would be great for adding veggies. She was very into me pursuing roasting vegetables with a variety of spices. Her favorite combo included: cauliflower, butter, & garlic. She also recommended ground turkey tacos! (I confessed an adoration for crunchy tacos from Taco Bell.)

Finally, she recommended that I buy chicken breast already prepared from the deli.

Admittedly, I was overwhelmed with all of this info, but the last recommendation was what I took to heart. Stay tuned for what happened next…..

Have you ever been to a dietician? Was it a positive experience?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Visit to the Dietician

  1. Shannon says:

    I went once as recommended by a therapist. I didn’t find it terribly helpful. She wanted to talk about calorie counts and portion sizes but once I told her I was in ED recovery, she seemed totally lost and said I could kind of do whatever. I think I remember checking that she had experience with ED as well. Kind of a waste of my time.

  2. The closest thing I’ve come to a dietician was my naturopath and her #1 piece of advice was to aim for 75+ grams of protein per day and eat Greek yogurt. She’s an excellent mind/body/spirit reader and knew that trying to put me on “a diet” wouldn’t work. I have always been one to cook but over the years my mindset has shifted to the point that I’d rather be more involved with the food I eat…knowing where it came from and who made/prepared it (and if *I* make it, even better). The idea of eating at certain types of restaurants really turns me off, not from a “oh I am so much better than that” perspective, but from the perspective that I am afraid it will make me sick and if you know me well, you know there’s nothing that scares me more than stomach illness.

  3. Debbish says:

    I saw a dietician after my coeliac (celiac) diagnosis – so it was more about that than healthy food in general.

    I’m not a great snacker either, but do have a bag of almonds and sultanas in my work drawer and put a little pile on my desk mid morning or afternoon. I also have a really long break between my lunch (or afternoon snack) and dinner as I eat ridiculously late (like 9pm or later).

    That also means I will have a wine or two while I’m lolling about at home, on the computer and watching TV before dinner.

    I also need to incorporate more veges into my diet. (oh well….)

    Am keen to hear how you go!

  4. I went to a dietician YEARS ago – looking for that magic pill. I’ve not been back to one since I have since learned that I pretty much know as much as they do. That comes from reading too many diet books. And learning everything I could about what it takes to keep my blood sugar levels normal. The key: balance.

    Then I lost 65 lbs and became obsessed with all things food. I learned about Michael Pollan and rushed out to read his book The Omnivore’s Dilemma. And then followed that with his book: In Defense of Foods: Eat food, not too much, mostly plants. I made a decision to limit processed foods as much as possible.

    And I gained weight. Not blaming real food though – I’m learning now how to eat real food, listen to my body, and eat just what I need.

    When it comes to real food, it is best to stick to your own kitchen as much as possible. Try not to buy anything with ingredients your grandmother (or great grandmother if your grandmother is younger than 55) wouldn’t recognize. Try to not buy anything with more than 5 ingredients. TRY is the operative word.

    Chobani rocks – buy plain 2%, add sweetener of your choice and your own fruit. That will reduce the sugars and ensure you’re eating real food. And probably save some $$.

    Roasting veggies is easy and a great way to add more to your diet.

    I hope your dietician suggested you ease into the changes and to make it an adventure. I have some posts (I’ll see if I can find them) on my blog about real food and why we should strive to leave the processed foods on the shelves and in the restaurants.

    All the best!

  5. Amy says:

    Your dietician was right on about eating Chobani! So excited to hear more about the healthy changes you’re making. That’s fantastic. 🙂

    Amy
    Chobani

  6. I agree that plain Greek yogurt is the way to go, The flavored versions have a lot of sugar in them!

  7. As promised – here’s a link to posts on my blog about real food. Some of the entries are rants, some of suggestions, and some are, I hope, informational.

    http://maurastoolbox.blogspot.com/search/label/Real%20Food

  8. Pingback: Cooking 101: One Small Step | eatingasapathtoyoga

  9. Kate says:

    The good thing about the dietitian I saw: She recommended I read Intuitive Eating. The bad things was she didn’t help me with my binging because she wasn’t qualified and I was able to lie to her and tell her everything was going fine.

  10. Kara says:

    As I was reading your post, I was thinking that is a long time between meals. I agree with the dietician, you need snacks. I eat every three hours (give or take, I’m not exact with anything that has to do with food/eating).

    I’m a Greek Yogurt girl myself, I buy plan 0% and flavour it myself. It’s on my list of things to write about. I puree ripe bananas with frozen berries and freeze in individual containers to take to work. In the afternoon I add the puree mix to a couple of spoonfuls of the yogurt.

    Yes, I’ve been to a few, we talked about my eating issues and fully acknowledged that they were not able to help me. It was still good talking to the dietician, I’ve always learned something from them.

  11. Pingback: Chobani A Healthy Indulgence | eatingasapathtoyoga

Comments are closed.