Cooking 101: One Small Step

After my visit to the dietician, I was a bit overwhelmed. Maybe even triggered into black and white thinking. Did I have to change my whole life? Or, could I focus on one small step.

There were several small changes I made. First of all, I started bringing more sandwiches to work. My favorite combination included wheat bread, turkey from the deli, muenster cheese, & cucumbers.

Later, I actually bought some proteins, and horrors, started cooking! I do not enjoy cooking. I don’t enjoy the clean up aspect, the worrying that I’m doing it wrong, am I going to die from eating raw, uncooked food?

Also, the touching.

I hate touching raw meat. If it has a bone? No way. Will. Not. Do. It.

A new grocery store opened up near my house. They have this $4-6 package deal where you can buy a portion/filet of any protein and it is accompanied by a vegetable or starch.

Some of my favorites have included:
Garlic Panko Tilapia with mixed vegetables
Boneless Pork Chop with Rosemary Potatoes
Lemon Pepper Chicken Breast with green beans
Italian Chicken Breast
Pecan Crusted Salmon
Sun-dried Tomato Chicken Breast

I’ve been using extra virgin olive oil or rosemary infused canola oil that I got at a Pampered Chef party.

This has worked very well for me for about three months. It felt really good to cut down on fast food & frozen dinners and trade them for real food that body actually needed and craved. Please note that I entrees I bought came with those veggies, and I did not marinade the proteins, they already came that way.

Here are some blog posts that have helped me in my exploration of cooking:

Perfectionist Cooking Paralysis

Dirty Little Secrets from My Kitchen

However, after awhile I got bored of eating the same thing. So, it was time to mix it up. Stay tuned to what happened next in the saga of learning to cook whole foods!

How do you get over your cooking fears?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cooking 101: One Small Step

  1. The pre-packaged meals look great, Jill! So glad to see you taking this step. Cooking is really fun once you get into it. And the results, well, all I can say is yum (most of the time :)).

  2. I wish the grocery stores around here would do that!! What a fantastic idea!

    When it comes to cooking, I read TONS of recipes online (and LOVE Pinterest for this). I tend to stick to those with the fewest ingredients because I am very picky about sauces and spices, and usually, the fewer ingredients, the better. It also helps me not to feel overwhelmed because there are fewer steps.

    I also keep a running list on my iphone of dinners I make that are boyfriend-approved. There are some meals that pretty much stay in our rotation on a weekly basis and others that I forget about. I like that we can pull up the list and say, “Oh… we haven’t had X in a while. Let’s have that tonight!”

    Oh… and THANK GOD for my crock pot. Best invention ever!

  3. I think this is a great idea! The meals look interesting, satisfying, and well-rounded. (I also like the sandwich idea- I am a big fan of sandwiches/wraps.)

  4. Debbish says:

    What a great place! I’m shocked at your thingy towards meat cos I’m the same and I HATE dealing with things with bones. Ugh! I hate eating things with bones. Creepy! (Glad it’s not just me!) I buy my meat from the supermarket (good cuts) and always pre-cut so I don’t have to deal with it – steaks, chicken stirfry strips etc. I also buy my veges frozen so really I just need to focus on making sauces and zapping the carbs (potato / pasta / rice etc).

    Unfortunately I tend to eat the same things ALL OF THE TIME. I wish I was more adventurous though. The last time I (properly) did Weight Watchers, I bought some of their cookbooks and tried out some recipes. I also love those ‘4 ingredients’ cookbooks – perfect if you’re like me and don’t have a pantry full of stuff!

    Happy cooking!

  5. Kara says:

    This isn’t really helpful, but I married a guy who likes to cook….

    Funny though – I don’t mind preparing breakfast, lunch and snacks, I’m just not big on cooking dinner and bigger meals.

Comments are closed.