I’m not waiting…

I have conversations with people from time to time about what I’m doing in my life in the present and in the past -since college maybe. I get comments like “That’s crazy.” “I could never do that.” “You’re so brave.”

I’m not repeating this to compliment myself.

I guess I have just gotten to the point in my life where I am not waiting around any longer.

I’m not going to wait to hiking in Vermont until one of my friends is ready to do so. I’m not skipping seeing that movie in the theaters because none of my friends want to see it.

If there’s something I really want to accomplish in my life, I have to be willing to do it alone.

And it’s not brave. It’s about living your life, and making every moment count.
It’s about fulfilling what needs to be done in order to live the life you want.

It may be breaking a mold, but someone has to be the first. Usually, people come along and follow.

But, I just can’t wait for the followers.

And so, I tread on making my own path.

As Bhagavan Das said, “Be. Here. Now.”

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m not waiting…

  1. Nancy says:

    How many times have I said, “When I lose weight, I’m going to….” Putting life on hold until we lose weight or until some other change happens does not help that change happen. I’m (thankfully) doing more than I thought I would now. Doing things I previously thought an overweight person had no right to do. I may not be graceful, but I’m having more fun!

  2. Lynne says:

    I tend to do a lot of things solo and a lot of people make those same brave comments to me. I don’t understand why people thing going to the theater to see a play by myself is so brave – to me it’s something I do because I love it. I’m not willing to forgo doing something I really want to (or as you put it, living my life) because I don’t have anyone to do it with.

  3. I love, love, LOVE this. Go you:-).
    PS. I love that I get to read your blog. I come away encouraged after reading posts like this!

  4. foodaddictionrecovery says:

    I always do what I love even if there’s nobody available to do it with. Don’t hold yourself back!

  5. Run Eat Play says:

    I love it. I would love to have more of a “take charge” attitude. You’re right – why wait for others?! I agree – don’t hold yourself back!

  6. Kara says:

    When I was single, I once went away for the weekend by myself. It was an interesting experience – I felt empowered but also uncomfortable. But I have no doubt that I would have learned (with practice) fully enjoy going away by myself.

    There are lots of things I’m fine doing on my own – athletic pursuits, and courses- fun and academic. I do need to be “more brave” when it comes to pursuing my dream career. I’m taking your post to heart…

  7. V says:

    Hi there,

    I was researching on GMFR and came across your blog. And I would like to let you know that it has definitely helped shape my decision in attending the September program this year.
    Thank you for your sharing asiit is soo helpful and it reaches people all over the world, myself included!

  8. Great attitude! I’m getting there . . .

Comments are closed.