Discomfort

I have discomfort in my life…

in my personal life relationships are strained and I allow that to make me feel slighted, unimportant, & dismissed.

my body aches from working out in a way that feels good, albeit intense. (By the way, no one EVER wants to hear how sore you are from working out. NO ONE.)

I’m not eating all the time, so I have leftover feelings that spill out everywhere causing emotional discomfort and instability

But this is life.
This is what I’ve chosen.

I’ve said no thank you to numbing out, hello to experiencing discomfort.

Initially, I needed to learn how to sit with discomfort. But now, I need to learn how to take a break from it, or even how to detach from it

Yes, I need to listen to my body –> but sometimes these messages I receive are just messages from my brain — messages from old storylines that aren’t relevant to a 30-something year old woman anymore.

How do you deal with discomfort?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in #ifnotdieting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Discomfort

  1. mpgammelg says:

    In short, I don’t deal with discomfort well. currently it’s in the form of poor stress management. I’m working on it! Reminder to self: keep breathing!

  2. Deborah says:

    I just want to send you love when I hear you talk so openly and from your heart. I hear your wounds and I see you healing them. It could be me saying those things. You know what your heart needs to heal and that is so good. I pray……. I pray and ask for guidance and to take away my obsession of the mind. I admire the fact that you can articulate exactly what is going on. That continues to be something I am getting better at. My co-dependance had me feeling like a chameleon and I had no idea who I was or what my thoughts were. I get to be a student in this life and I am learning from every path I cross and for that I am grateful. Thank you for your post’s.
    Deb
    xo

  3. Debbish says:

    Sadly I still eat when dealing with discomfort. But it was interesting to read your post cos I was thinking how much discomfort I’ve recently felt FROM overeating. I’ve been feeling full and bloated a lot recently and conscious that I’ve continued to binge and overeat despite that. Perhaps I need to consider experience discomfort from emptiness (at least literally) instead!

    Deb

  4. Because.... says:

    I very much needed to hear this.

  5. Erin says:

    I needed to see this blog post today. I am suffering from the same and I am really suffering. I need to learn how to experience the discomfort and still LIVE. Numbing would be so much easier but there must be another way to keep breathing and living. I am, at the very least, enlightened and hopeful after reading what you wrote.

    Erin – ekcantcook.blogspot.com

  6. painfighter says:

    I agree with your post. I have fibromyalgia and the messages I receive from my brain are a jumbled mess. It’s been hard to learn to slow down, calm down, and sort them out. I have to listen to my body more than my brain usually. Listening to my brain can get me in trouble. My brain often tells me to go back to my older, unhealthier habits that make my pain worse. Those were my habits for 20+ years. It’s hard to ignore those messages, but I work hard to fight them and ignore them. It’s a daily battle. You learn to deal with the discomfort though. My pain has become a part of me, of who I am. I don’t like the pain, but I accept it.

  7. Pingback: Fat: The Owner’s Manual (Book Review) | eatingasapathtoyoga

Comments are closed.