Eat That Candy Bar!

Today I had a really healthy & delicious lunch but I had a hankering for something sweet. I remembered I had a snack-sized 100 Grand bar in my purse from yesterday.

I got upstairs to my room, and got very busy with the afternoon activities. Thoughts of candy bars had vanished.

Fast forward to 3:30, when I started to realize I was developing a sweet tooth again. I told my assistant,

“Oooh, I forgot about a candy bar  I have in my purse! I’m going to enjoy it after the clients leave!”

She screamed, “Noooo, don’t do it!”

I was very puzzled by this. And I asked her what she meant. She said, “You’ve been losing so much weight, don’t even tempt yourself!”
Wow. I used to think like that too.

That one candy bar could ruin everything. One moment in time.

But the fact is, that one snack, one meal, even a few days worth of eating has very little effect on your health. Rather, it’s what you eat over a period of time that influences your health.

But she wasn’t even talking about health, she was talking about my weight.

In the past, I would have restricted, eaten the candy bar anyway, beat myself up about it, and then stopped at a few drive-throughs on the way home.

What happened today?

I ate my candy bar mindfully, savored & enjoyed it, threw away the wrappers, and went on about my day. No guilt. No black or white thinking. Just pleasure.

And not the only pleasure of my day either.

Other joys included talking with friends, giving myself some much needed downtime after work, and journaling.

When food is just one lovely component of your life, instead of the ONLY one….

*it doesn’t glitter

*it can be eaten mindfully & intuitively

*it’s just food and not love

Food in its proper place can be rediscovered and enjoyed, without guilt, and without fear.

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Eat That Candy Bar!

  1. Sue Ellen says:

    Haha – I did a very similar post about two minutes ago. Must be the day for it. :)
    http://thislife.me/2012/09/14/have-the-damn-chocolate/

  2. Yay! Good for you. That change in mindset is huge. It’s like you’re at the point of making healthy choices be your lifestyle, and not just a diet that you feel may be restrictive.

    Happy Friday!

  3. Leslie Robin Neshama says:

    I have a relative who says that she is “naughty” when she eats cake or ice cream, etc. I react poorly to these statements. But I think it may be this relative’s meta-message that she is (being) BAD for eating. I am at the point in my recovery where I cannot abide these types of thoughts. (Others may say them and feel these thoughts, but for me, it just isn’t who I am any more.)
    Food is nourishment, food is sustenance, and food is not BAD. Heck, it took me a long time to realize *I* am NOT bad.
    Looking forward, and thank you for this post about your eating and enjoying the candy bar. :) :)

  4. Shannon says:

    That is so exciting! Your post was really a breath of fresh air and good motivation for me as well. Great job!

  5. karenclanderson says:

    YAY!! I have found that when I eat really good quality dark chocolate it satisfies on a level that cheap chocolate never can. In fact, I think it was at GMFR that I did an experiment with a Hershey’s kiss and found that when I really allowed myself to taste it, it didn’t taste very good at all. It was kind of waxy and not very chocolatey.

  6. Caroline says:

    Good timing! Just had a candy bar today which I normally don’t eat, enjoyed it- And now I feel good. WIthout guilt food is just food! Great post :)

  7. Debbish says:

    Oh, that’s so wonderful…. I’m not there yet, but hope to be ONE day!

    Deb

  8. Great story. Great ending. :)

Comments are closed.