Weight Stigma Awareness Week

September 24 – 28 is Weight Stigma Awareness Week.
What is Weight Stigma?

According to BEDA (Binge Eating Disorder Association):

~Shame placed upon individuals based on weight or body size.
~Judgment & biases predetermined by weight, body size, lifestyle
~Judgment of a person’s character, work ethics, & personality based on weight
~Suffering prejudice & discrimination because of one’s weight
~Inequalities in the employment, health-care, & educational settings due to negative stereotypes that overweight & obese persons are lazy & incompetent
~Can be communicated both directly & indirectly
~Negative attitudes affecting interactions
~Subtle & overt expressions

How are individuals stigmatized?
~Comments regarding body size from health-care providers, employers, etc.
~Employment
~Education
~Stereotypes leading to rejection, prejudice, & discrimination
~Mistreatment from peers (specifically bullying in children)

What are the Origins of Weight Stigma?
~Media portrayal and societal pressure regarding obesity
~Cultural value of thinness
~Culture blaming victims (overweight/obese people) instead of investigating environmental factors
~General belief that people only fail to lose weight because they lack the will power & discipline (when research tells us that 97% of people who lose weight on a diet, gain it back & sometimes more…)

How has weight stigma negatively impacted you?

Remember weight stigma affects thin and fat people alike.
Please check in this week to read more about Weight Stigma.

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weight Stigma Awareness Week

  1. Debbish says:

    I hadn’t heard of the week (think it’s a US thing) – but I’ve suffered many of those stigma – many at my own hands (and judgement!).

    I think sometimes you get beaten down so much you tend to believe the hype (negativity in this case!)

    Deb

  2. I’m glad you posted about this. For me, I’ve been very fortunate that I haven’t faced a lot of negativity from other people regarding my excess weight. Instead, the stigma has impacted me more from within. The media has made me fear being treated poorly, and that fear can impact my willingness to enter new situations. But I’m learning to listen to my own experiences that have been very positive instead of listening to the negative media.

Comments are closed.