Weight Stigma: Recommit

If I am not for myself, who will be for me?
But if I am only for myself, what am I?
And if not now, when?” -Hillel

Recommit to taking care of yourself!

Recommit to challenging weight bias.

Recommit to standing up for healthy body image.

Recommit to taking care of yourself physically, mentally, and emotionally.

Recommit to end “fat talk” by discussing ways society and individuals
perpetuate stigma around weight.

For me, that means facing my fear and doing the high-intensity cardio work my body craves. I recommit to going grocery shopping on a regular basis. I continue to commit to going to bed at a decent hour, so that my body is well rested, and thus able to make rational decisions.

I recommit to challenging my own biases I have about myself because my weight. I do deserve meaningful relationships. I do deserve to look good & be well-dressed.

I recommit to not talking about other people’s body sizes, regardless of whether those sizes are fat or thin.

Why is it that it is still socially acceptable to make jokes about one’s size? We certainly are well aware that it is not okay to make comments about one’s religion or sexual orientation, but sure yeah, throw another fat joke out there?

I will continue to challenge people to focus on health behaviors, rather than on losing weight.

What do you recommit to doing? What does your body need from you?

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weight Stigma: Recommit

  1. I need to recommit to ending “fat talk”. I’m terrible about internalizing those types of thoughts about myself. I should recommit to realizing I’m better than that! 🙂

Comments are closed.