You are Someone New

Today I had my most favorite lunch: Jerusalem/Israeli Couscous. It’s made up of couscous, onion, feta, tomatoes, & black olives.

Afterwards, I had a glazed pumpkin cake doughnut.

THEN, I took a cookie off the shelf.

I said to mySelf, “I don’t have any hunger right now.”

My firefighter part said, “Bite Me!”

And I did. I bit into the cookie, and ate about one-half of it.

Then, I felt over full and I got curious. Why did my firefighter part say “Bite Me”? And Why did I act upon that by eating? Did I forget that I’m not that person who overeats all the time? Did I forget that I’m making new pathways and new choices, and trying to align myself with what I really want in life: calm, peaceful eating?

I’ve been in a stuck place that I will blog about some other time. The past few days, however, have been more serene. That doesn’t mean I’m not going to go back to pretty much the only way I’ve been able to take care of myself in the past.

Maybe, I just needed a reminder. You are not that person. You are someone new.

I love that Gungor song “Beautiful Things.” (I love Willow Creek’s version, & the  incorporation of art.)

Here are some of my favorite lyrics:

All this pain
I wonder if I’ll ever find my way
I wonder if my life could really change at all
All this earth
Could all that is lost ever be found
Could a garden come up from this ground at all

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

All around
Hope is springing up from this old ground
Out of chaos life is being found in You

You make me new, You are making me new
You make me new, You are making me new
You are making me new

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in Intuitive Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You are Someone New

  1. Sue Ellen says:

    It’s true you’re choosing different pathways, but remember that choosing to eat something when you’re not hungry doesn’t always mean you’re falling back into old habits. Eating is about enjoyment and ritual and a dozen other things, and sometimes that means eating the cookie simply because you feel like it. It’s about having permission to eat, without rules – because “stop when I’m full” can also be turned into an unhelpful rule, especially if we’re used to putting a lot of rules around the act of eating. I ate chocolate today when I was already full, just because I felt like it and thought I would enjoy it. Which I did, but there was a part of me that thought, “No, you’re already full, therefore you shouldn’t want that and you’re not allowed to eat it.” It’s tricky, but sometimes I think it’s good to push our boundaries a little, if only to prove to ourselves that it’s okay to do that. 🙂

  2. Shannon says:

    I think this is a wonderful post! In response to Sue Ellen, I definitely understand eating for enjoyment but, for me, early in my IE path and recovering from disordered eating, there is a fine line with eating when I’m not hungry. That can quickly turn into overeating and feelings of guilt so I am trying to pay close attention to non-hunger eating.

  3. There’s so much in that song for me. I LOVE that He is making beautiful things out of dust (love that line)…That song, for me, came at a time when maybe I needed it quite a bit..lots going on with the husband and with learning to love a baby who I didn’t yet understand. On top of all of that, yup, every moment is a chance to make a better choice if we’ve “messed up.” <–Of of my favorite things about this life.

  4. Maura says:

    Thank you for this. I like the thinking “I’m no longer that person.” It doesn’t mean a rejection of the person you were, but that you’ve evolved. And sometimes we all need to be reminded that we have evolved. I know I do!

Comments are closed.