Weight Loss Compliments

My colleague complimented me about how much weight I had lost. She remarked, “You must be working so hard!”

Yes, but no. But, yes.

I’m wondering if by hard work she means….

*Exercising compulsively while shaming myself
*Restricting white sugar and calories
*Eating a lot of salads
*Denying myself of pleasure

I’m working hard, but it looks quite different than the typical dieter…

Because I am….
*Sitting with uncomfortable feelings
*Checking in with my hunger and satisfaction levels
*Trying to eat in a non-distracted environment
*Only taking exercise classes that I love, regardless of whether I lose weight or not
*Keeping Ice Cream and Potato Chips in my house

I was talking with another friend at work about this whole weight loss thing. She’s lost the same amount of weight I have. But, she has dieted. She won’t keep food in her house. (Been there, done that, so I have a lot of compassion for her.)

I told her how I did something different this time around.

I bought more ice cream and chips than I could possible ever eat, and put them in my pantry.

“WHAT?”, she screamed. “But, I would eat them all immediately.”

Well, yes I did do that, I admitted. But, I kept buying them over and over again, until my heart and my mind new that I was allowed to eat them whenever I wanted. I gave myself unconditional permission to enjoy them.

So, when I did that, the food lost its power.

“Wow”, my friend said. “That is something I would never do. But, after 40 years of dieting, maybe it’s good to try something different. But I just can’t put this weight back on.”

And that is where our alike-ness ends.
Not, that I haven’t felt those feelings before…. Or that they don’t come back from time to time.

But, my weight loss is not something I pursued.
It happened naturally.
Without restriction and hate.
Without deprivation or compulsivity or obsession.

About eatingasapathtoyoga

Learning to savor food, yoga, & life.
This entry was posted in #ifnotdieting, Health at Every Size, Intuitive Eating, Intuitive Living, Mindful Eating, Weight Stigma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weight Loss Compliments

  1. karenclanderson says:

    This is a fantastic post Jill…and I can very much relate!

  2. Wow–that’s such a great lesson that you’ve learned–and such inspiration for others. Great post!

  3. Lori Schneider says:

    You are truly inspirational!!!

  4. Dorit says:

    Yes! I love this post. 🙂

  5. Lisa Alpert says:

    WOW! I so admire your strength, resolve and courage!! 🙂 Great for YOU!!!!!

  6. I read about a “diet” once that basically said to allow yourself to eat as much as you want of your favorite foods until they lose their appeal. Like, eat only pizza for two weeks (or however long it takes) until you’re sick of it. And then keep some in the house so you still have the option. I think it’s a bit extreme, but it’s along these same lines. Food has too much power when we tell ourselves we can’t even allow it in our lives.

  7. Debbish says:

    Wow… I’m hoping to get to this headspace. I’m still at the ‘eating everything I buy’ stage once I give myself permission to have it. But knowing that there are people like you who have overcome the binge-eating and over-eating behaviour helps hugely. (Although I know everyone does have slip-ups and struggle from time to time also!)

  8. Shannon says:

    This is a beautiful post and such an inspiration. I am still working on normalizing food and knowing that it really is possibly is truly encouraging.

Comments are closed.